Special Closing Reception for Sheryl Southwick’s Exhibit

Special Closing Reception for Sheryl Southwick’s exhibit,

I On the Road Connecting Us

Join us this Saturday morning, February 28, 10 am to 12 noon
at the Arts Council’s Firehouse Gallery, 427 Laurel Street

The Arts Council of Greater Baton Rouge invites you to the closing reception for I On the Road Connecting Us, an exhibition of new works by Sheryl Southwick in response to a walk in the neighborhood. The show is on view at the Arts Council’s Firehouse Gallery, upstairs at 427 Laurel Street, through February 27, with a special closing reception on Saturday, February 28 from 10 am to 12 noon.  Open to the public.

Sheryl Southwick says of I On the Road Connecting Us:  “It all started with the black tar marks, looking like calligraphy. I’ve always loved calligraphy, so the marks visually grabbed me as they held the road together in repair.  Guess I’d never noticed them up close before.  I was taking a walk in Magnolia Woods in Baton Rouge when they took hold of my imagination, setting my focus on roads. I had certainly taken them for granted: what roads actually do is provide us with connections to other people.  Memories, personal and collective, came to mind. They keep coming.  Now I’m on an endless road of ideas.”To learn more about Sheryl Southwick and her artwork, visit the artist’s website:

The Capital Region’s Hometown Creative Organization

Leave a Reply

