Ten Things I Learned From Louis Nizer

Write Clearly.  But Mr. Nizer was not just a great oral advocate, he was a superb brief writer.  And he taught each of us that the key to effective writing was clarity.  Again, his rule of thumb was to judge the clarity of the argument in terms of an intelligent lay person, not a legal scholar.  He would say to give it to your spouse to read.  If you have to explain what you wrote, it wasn’t any good.  Many is the time I slaved over a brief until I thought I had achieved perfection, only to have Mr. Nizer hand it back to me saying that I have given him “raw meat” and to go back and cook it some more.  And the awful part of it was, he was right.

via Ten Things I Learned From Louis Nizer – Phillips Nizer LLP Articles.

Leave a Reply

