5 Favorite Charlotte Brontë Quotations

“I would always rather be happy than dignified.”

“I am no bird; and no net ensnares me: I am a free human being with an independent will.”

“If all the world hated you and believed you wicked, while your own conscience approved of you and absolved you from guilt, you would not be without friends.”

“The trouble is not that I am single and likely to stay single, but that I am lonely and likely to stay lonely.”

I care for myself. The more solitary, the more friendless, the more unsustained I am, the more I will respect myself.”

“I can live alone, if self-respect, and circumstances require me so to do. I need not sell my soul to buy bliss. I have an inward treasure born with me, which can keep me alive if all extraneous delights should be withheld, or offered only at a price I cannot afford to give.”

A woman under an umbrella on a flowering meadow - Ivan Shishkin

Leave a Reply

