Today’s Birthday: Anton Chekhov (January 29, 1860)

Anton Pavlovich Chekhov

Anton Pavlovich Chekhov

10 Favorite Quotations of Anton Chekhov:

1. “Don’t tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass.”
2. “Any idiot can face a crisis; it’s this day-to-day living that wears you out.”
3. “You have lost your reason and taken the wrong path. You have taken lies for truth, and hideousness for beauty. You would marvel if, owing to strange events of some sorts, frogs and lizards suddenly grew on apple and orange trees instead of fruit, or if roses began to smell like a sweating horse; so I marvel at you who exchange heaven for earth. I don’t want to understand you.”
4. “The role of the artist is to ask questions, not answer them.”
5. “We shall find peace. We shall hear angels, we shall see the sky sparkling with diamonds.”
6. “Wisdom…. comes not from age, but from education and learning.”
7. “When asked, “Why do you always wear black?”, he said, “I am mourning for my life.”
8. “…and with a burning pain in my heart I realized how unnecessary, how petty, and how deceptive all that had hindered us from loving was. I understood that when you love you must either, in your reasonings about that love, start from what is highest, from what is more important than happiness or unhappiness, sin or virtue in their accepted meaning, or you must not reason at all.”
9. “If ever my life can be of any use to you, come and claim it.”
10. “Man is what he believes.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

